Author Topic: New to investing, very basic tax questions...?  (Read 3876 times)

Valencia de Valera

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to investing, very basic tax questions...?
« on: July 31, 2015, 08:39:07 AM »
Hi all, I am new to investing and need some advice on taxable accounts. Currently I have about 30K in a taxable account. I also have $16K in a checking account earning .89% interest, which I know is terrible. DH and I save 20% in retirement accounts and are considering what to do with the rest of our savings (another 30%). We want to get better returns than the bank obviously but I'm concerned about being able to access the money if needed. My questions:

1) If I move all/part of the 30K to a different fund (it's currently in Vanguard Windsor II and I would like to move at least some of it to index funds for lower expenses and more diversification), how will that affect our taxes? We're currently in the 15% tax bracket. If I transfer money between funds, will that be reflected as income and possibly bump us up to the next bracket? DH and I are making 60-65K and the next tax bracket starts at $74K if I'm remembering right. I'm not sure if this is relevant to the tax situation but this was a trust fund from a relative that was turned over to my name about 2 years ago and it has grown by 10K since then.