Author Topic: Maxed out the Foreign Earned Income Credit....  (Read 3864 times)

pappyvanwinkle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Maxed out the Foreign Earned Income Credit....
« on: July 21, 2015, 06:24:05 AM »
Hi,

My wife and I are administrators at an American School overseas.  When she was an administrator and I was a teacher, we never had to pay any taxes because we were always below the Foreign Earned Income Credit threshold.  Now that we are both administrators, we have exceeded the limit by nearly $100,000 (as the IRS considers housing, and other benefits as taxable).  We also made some rental income off of our property in Colorado.

My question is, how do I shelter more money so that I do not have to pay the $800 in Federal taxes and $100 in state taxes again.  I guess I could make a contribution to my IRA from India; the school would probably do it but I haven't dealt with this before.  What are some other ways that I could shelter the cash?

Thanks,

Pappy

MVal

• Pencil Stache
Re: Maxed out the Foreign Earned Income Credit....
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 09:52:24 AM »
I wonder about this as well... I am thinking about teaching English in Korea and I am not sure how the taxes work when you do that. Do you pay taxes in the country you work in, the country you are a citizen of, or both? And I'm sure the rate must be different as well?

How do you invest when you work abroad? I would want to continue to fund my Roth IRA, but how in the world would that work? If Roths are funded with after-tax money, wouldn't you have to pay some kind of USA tax first? I am so confused.

beltim

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2015, 10:08:04 AM »
You have $100k in income over the $160-something thousand limit for the two of you and you only paid $800 in federal taxes?   Wow, your country of residence has remarkably similar taxation levels as the US.

My only suggestion would be an IRA but that's an obvious one and at $260k + income you wouldn't qualify for a deductible IRA.