Author Topic: Married Joint now HoH. Tax tips? 2014 state refund amount is joint?  (Read 1864 times)

ETBen

• Bristles
    • I started a journal about single parenting and the new life towards FIRE
I was married and filing joint last year.  I am now legally separated and filing HoH.  I own my own primary residence and have dependents.

Question 1: any good sites you recommend for tax tips?  I've been reading other posts but ask anyway.  I earn over $130k per year, own a home, 2 kids.  This is my first year doing my own taxes (TaxAct).  But I want to plan ahead for 2016.  Other info below if that is useful.

Question 2:  If I need to report the amount of my 2014 state refund, how do I do that when it was a joint return last year? 

General tax info:
130k income
2 kids, will give spouse right to claim 1 of the kids
Will be divorced 2016
Own a home
Drive for work but am reimbursed at the full fed amount (Prius, it covers more than my driving expenses and care).
Max out 401k
Rolling over old 401K to an IRA this year
5k to IRA
Tuition for masters, but fully paid by employer
5k for child care (summer and after school)
No HSA. I have a PPO and my employer gives me credits that reduces the premium to very little. 

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Married Joint now HoH. Tax tips? 2014 state refund amount is joint?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2016, 09:12:22 PM »
Question 1: any good sites you recommend for tax tips?  I've been reading other posts but ask anyway.  I earn over $130k per year, own a home, 2 kids.  This is my first year doing my own taxes (TaxAct).  But I want to plan ahead for 2016.
It appears you have addressed the major opportunity with the max 401k.  Bogleheads is another good forum.  A classic, albeit somewhat tongue in cheek, post on tax reduction is https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=79900.

Question 2:  If I need to report the amount of my 2014 state refund, how do I do that when it was a joint return last year?