Author Topic: Lost 401K, can I start a company that can gives me individual 401K?  (Read 7584 times)

astvilla

• Stubble
Background:

Company I worked for that gave 401K for part-time work closed.  Now I can't contribute into one because new job doesn't offer that for part-time employees.  New job also doesn't offer as many hours or work so I'm paid less. 

I have a new potential offer with more possible future opportunities as a freelancer.  I spoke with Fidelity sometime ago, they said you can have an individual 401K.  But to do that, I would need to open my own company (which I have no experience in or ever done).  Through my own "company", the revenue it makes (very little thousands at most) I can make my own 401K.  Is this true and is it worth it?  Wouldn't I have to pay some fees just to enter into a 401K or just the fees of the fund?

Also the employer contract states it won't "withold any income tax or other payroll deduction".  I have to do that.  Is this different than most jobs where people get taxes, contributions deducted, than they get their take home pay?  It sounds like I get paid all up front and have to do my own taxes and states I have to report income and taxes to appropriate tax authorities. I'm still filling out a W-9 (for freelance work?).  How does reporting my own work?  Sounds like instead of tax refunds, it'd be tax owe...theoretically.

Can I set up where the employer pays into company and I give myself a 401K instead of paying to me directly?  Is it legal? Are there better alternatives? (I already maxed Roth this year).

Thank you.

Roboturner

• Pencil Stache
  • No Snacks, Just Math
Re: Lost 401K, can I start a company that can gives me individual 401K?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 11:03:41 AM »
Background:

Company I worked for that gave 401K for part-time work closed.  Now I can't contribute into one because new job doesn't offer that for part-time employees.  New job also doesn't offer as many hours or work so I'm paid less.