Author Topic: Filing ESPP and RSU gains, Form 1099-B  (Read 2334 times)

JumpInTheFIRE

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Filing ESPP and RSU gains, Form 1099-B
« on: February 19, 2016, 09:05:23 PM »
I participate in two different stock programs at work.  I get granted Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) which vest over time and I participate in the Employee Stock Purchase Program (ESPP).  This is the first year I have done the ESPP but I have been receiving and have sold RSUs for several years.  Both programs are managed by ETrade.  I never received a 1099-B from ETrade before ( have received a 1099-DIV for dividends associated with this stock), but this year I received one with the ESPP sales on it.  However, it also had my sales of the RSU shares with a cost basis of zero. 

As they didn't do this before when I sold RSUs I am wondering how to report it (or if I misreported it in the past).  It looks like the amount of the RSUs is added to my gross income on my W-2, so if I add these sales as 1099-B entries in TaxAct (with a 0 cost basis like listed on the 1099 that ETrade issued) then I get taxed twice on the same income - once as regular income on my W-2 and once as a capital gain on form 8949.  Is something wrong here or am I just not understanding the form that ETrade issued?

MDM

• Senior Mustachian

JumpInTheFIRE

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Filing ESPP and RSU gains, Form 1099-B
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2016, 11:21:48 PM »