Author Topic: Do lots of people forget that they will still need to pay tax in retirement?  (Read 27007 times)

Jeremy E.

• Handlebar Stache
I told a few coworkers about MMM and they decided they would each save up $1,000,000. They each showed me a yearly budget of $40,000 but they forgot to include taxes in their budget. So I told them they need to increase their nest egg by $100,000 or decrease annual budget by $4,000 to deal with the taxes. One of them also forgot to include health insurance, he was so happy before I told him about the issues with his budget, and afterwards he was pretty upset and said he might as well just forget about early retirement. My guess is there are a lot of people who forget to include taxes, has anyone else found this to be true?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Taxes should be pretty close to zero in early retirement.

See the GoCurryCracker posts on taxes:
https://www.google.com/search?q=go+curry+cracker+taxes
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

clifp

• Pencil Stache
The huge drop in taxes was one of the pleasant surprises of taxes.  No payrolls taxes, 0% tax on cap gains in the15% bracket and only 15% on cap gains on dividends. Much of your income compounds tax free in tax exempt (ROTH) or tax deferred accounts.

Last year I paid 0 in State and Federal taxes,now that was a special case, and it took some planning on my part.  Still I have seen huge 70- 80% drop in my overall taxes since retiring over the last 15 years.

frugalecon

• Pencil Stache