Author Topic: Corrected w-2 in HR Block  (Read 641 times)

Sibley

  • Magnum Stache
  • ******
  • Posts: 4078
  • Location: Chicago, IL
Corrected w-2 in HR Block
« on: February 13, 2020, 09:00:17 AM »
Sigh.... my company screwed up the w-2s. Not surprised really. However, I've never dealt with a corrected w-2, so I'm not sure how the mechanics work. My googling has not given me anything useful beyond make sure you get one, and here's what to do if you don't get it.

Specifically, the HSA stuff is messed up. I don't have the new one yet so can't compare, but any tips would be appreciated.

terran

  • Magnum Stache
  • ******
  • Posts: 2648
Re: Corrected w-2 in HR Block
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 09:51:32 AM »
Have you already filed and you're asking how to file an amended return, or are you asking how to file with a corrected W2?

Sibley

  • Magnum Stache
  • ******
  • Posts: 4078
  • Location: Chicago, IL
Re: Corrected w-2 in HR Block
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2020, 09:58:32 AM »
Have not filed with the IRS. The return is started in HR Block, but I'm missing some other info unrelated to work so waiting for that. Now also need the corrected W-2.

MDM

  • Walrus Stache
  • *******
  • Posts: 9895
Re: Corrected w-2 in HR Block
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2020, 09:19:20 PM »
I've never dealt with a corrected w-2, so I'm not sure how the mechanics work.
Same as if you had received a correct W-2 in the first place, except the tax software may ask if it is a corrected W-2 and check a box somewhere if it is.

Sibley

  • Magnum Stache
  • ******
  • Posts: 4078
  • Location: Chicago, IL
Re: Corrected w-2 in HR Block
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2020, 08:46:44 AM »
I've never dealt with a corrected w-2, so I'm not sure how the mechanics work.
Same as if you had received a correct W-2 in the first place, except the tax software may ask if it is a corrected W-2 and check a box somewhere if it is.

Well, that's easy. Sometimes it's the stupid stuff that isn't written down.