Author Topic: Work shoes - 10 years and counting  (Read 5391 times)

Mr Chin Stubble

• Stubble
Work shoes - 10 years and counting
« on: January 25, 2017, 08:18:00 AM »
I have been using the same work shoes for over 10 years. Not straight though but on and off.

I got them for Christmas 10plus years ago. They are a name brand, black  dress shoe.

I must have got them resoled  about 3x.

The only issue with the last time was I guess they were so old that the leather split on the top while they were resoling them from stretching them out. Two tears about 3/4 of an inch by the pinky toe in each respective shoe

Well I wasn't about to let them go to waste so I put duct tape on the inside and have been mending  the cracks periodically with crazy glue and shoe goo. (Shoe goo does much better in this application).

I finally hope to retire them once and for all so I wear them to work every day now.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2017, 08:47:34 AM by Mr Chin Stubble »

monte0930

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Work shoes - 10 years and counting
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2017, 10:04:17 AM »
That's pretty impressive. Do you mind sharing which brand of shoe they are?

mtn

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2017, 10:07:26 AM »
I may be in the minority for this site, but once you're using superglue and duct tape on the leather uppers, I think you've crossed the line into cheapskate.

Curious what kind of shoes as well though. Thats good, although not great longevity for a dress shoe (currently on year 36ish with a pair of my grandpas old ones--they've only had light use through the years though, maybe 20 times a year)

Mr Chin Stubble

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2017, 11:06:04 AM »
Bruno magli

Why cheap? I fixed a pair of chuck--which almost always come apart at the heel-- w/ the Sam show goo

In college we used to use it a lot. But then we had no money so..