Author Topic: Wife and I cleared $1M  (Read 3579 times)

tips^up

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Wife and I cleared $1M
« on: March 08, 2019, 10:39:05 AM »
This is a total braggadocios post, patting myself on the back and sharing my experience.

Age 34, wife 32.  Surprisingly, alarmingly actually, my wife and I combined are a millionaire.  Before marriage, but already seriously dating, we bought a house at the depth of the recession (2013) with an apartment over the garage.  I am a real estate appraiser (Certified General Appraiser, nearly an MAI) by trade.  I am well aware that luck is involved in our situation, but I am tuned in and leapt on a good opportunity at the best possible time.  We lived in the apartment, rented out the front, nearly broke even for $0 mortgage/rent.  This enabled us to save us money quickly. I used some of it to buy a rock attached to precious metals and she let me put it on her finger (modest diamond ring on white gold, we got married).  She's even more frugal than me and has been a positive influence on my spending and savings.

We saved up for another down payment and bought a 2nd house across town, this one with a lockoff downstairs.  Gross cash flow from the 3 total units now matches my work salary.  Net is much much lower with massive mortgages, but in 30 years or however it goes, we'll be set up really well.  We live in an expensive area, near Vail, CO, so home prices are not affordable unless there is renting capabilities, in my opinion.  But rents are very high and home values have climbed big time since purchase.