Author Topic: Why do you use so much electricity?!?!?  (Read 240158 times)

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Why do you use so much electricity?!?!?
« Reply #450 on: May 21, 2014, 11:34:47 AM »
Having lights on outside for security is a sad myth.  Here is some reading material about outdoor lighting:
Lighting and Crime
Outdoor Lighting Guidence

Thanks for posting those links.  Poorly aimed outdoor lighting (light pollution and glare) is a waste of energy and money and may create more hazard than it fixes.  As a residential designer I try to convey these concepts to my clients, some listen better than others. 

The worst lighting in my area are the large "yard buster" mercury vapor lights with diffusers.  They throw light about 1/4 mile sometimes.  And the glare is unbelievable.  I always tell my clients that if you can see the light source, the bulb, then it's a bad fixture.  Still, most front door lights in the USA are this way. *shakes head*

ohyonghao

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #451 on: May 21, 2014, 01:49:41 PM »
Thanks for posting those links.  Poorly aimed outdoor lighting (light pollution and glare) is a waste of energy and money and may create more hazard than it fixes.  As a residential designer I try to convey these concepts to my clients, some listen better than others. 

The worst lighting in my area are the large "yard buster" mercury vapor lights with diffusers.  They throw light about 1/4 mile sometimes.  And the glare is unbelievable.  I always tell my clients that if you can see the light source, the bulb, then it's a bad fixture.  Still, most front door lights in the USA are this way. *shakes head*