Author Topic: We did it! Retired at 33 with two kids as of 9/8/21!  (Read 2836 times)

HastyTortoise

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
We did it! Retired at 33 with two kids as of 9/8/21!
« on: September 14, 2021, 04:34:39 AM »
My husband and I officially withdrew from the rat race on 9/8/21! We're 33 and have two young kids and are so excited for our family's new adventures!

I'll be volunteering at my kids' elementary school and at a local exotic animal sanctuary, and helping some family members with their fitness goals pro bono (I was a Personal Trainer.) My husband will be trying his hand at carpentry and is helping some of our aunts and uncles with their investing and retirement planning; he also has some amazing creative ideas to merge data science and art!

I'm far from a poet, but I felt inspired by our victory, so here's a little poem to celebrate our journey:

My mind is racing
since I was 4
"Don't I know enough?!"
"Know more!"
Cram. Test. Win. Forget. Repeat.

I just sit.
They fill me up.
"But I'm not empty!"
"Shut up!"

"I'm in here. I'm me!"
"Be quiet and take this trigonometry."
I take it.
I cram. I test. I win. I forget. I repeat. I'm buried.

My 12-year sentence, served.
But wait, here's 4 more.
I cram more. I test more. I win more. I forget more. I repeat again and again.
I'm lost.

"You're winning!"
"At what?!"
"Now get a job! Get paid!"
"Okay..."

Lifeless shells of facts and figures
colliding in drab gray spaces,
running their own little races.
We work. We earn. We spend. We self-medicate. We repeat.
We're ... successful?

"I want out!" I scream.
I'm still buried in here.
Pieces of me scattered amongst the force-fed facts
and the piles of debt
and the project reports
and the massive regrets.

Start digging!
I sift. I shred. I sort. I save
the parts of me that long gave way
to the filling up and wringing out.
To whatever this race was all about.

At last, an image waivers in my mind.
"Is that ... me?"
I'm fragile, but I'm here. I'm me!