Author Topic: Took a 15% pay cut  (Read 2185 times)

The 585

Took a 15% pay cut
« on: March 14, 2019, 09:12:37 AM »
I just quit my job this week to take a different one for -- that's right -- a 15% pay cut! Woo hoo!

All jokes aside, I've been working in the same office for four years (which is an eternity for someone in their 20s), and although the pay was good and work was relatively stress free, I was learning absolutely nothing and life started to become auto pilot. The work day would go by ridiculously slow. My co-workers were some of the laziest, miserable people, which began having an effect on me as well. I'll be sad to give up the salary, unvested 401k match, and access to mega backdoor Roth contributions, but it was time for a change.

The new job is a 15% lower salary, but in an industry which aligns better with my future career goals. I'll have the freedom and ability to telework occasionally. I'm excited to meet new people and learn new skills. My wife and I will still have a ridiculously high savings rate regardless, and she agrees that this will be a good change.

Has anybody done something similar, or at least thought about it? I know it's the right move, but it still feels unnatural taking a step backwards in compensation and leaving a job you're comfortable with. Help put my mind at ease!

maginvizIZ

• Bristles
Re: Took a 15% pay cut
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2019, 09:37:47 AM »
Wow.  Kudos to you!

I'm not satisfied in my current job.  Cool to hear you took a cut in an attempt to be happier!  I've been a slave at my job for 2.5 years. 401k & tuition reimbursement hand cuffs come off June 6, but that hasn't stopped me from interviewing at other companies (I'm optimistic to get an offer any day now!).

This will be the last company I stay for 3 years, simply for the 401k & $12k in tuition reimbursement.  Math wise it made sense to do so... But I lost so much of my soul sitting here in this cubicle not being happy.