Author Topic: The first 100k. How hard was it for you?  (Read 104242 times)

Pooperman

• Magnum Stache
Re: The first 100k. How hard was it for you?
« Reply #150 on: September 26, 2014, 08:26:18 AM »
Everyone is making me feel poor! I'm only 24, so I guess that's part of it. Only been out of school for a bit over a year. Had a job for 8 months out of school and then was unemployed for 5 months (zeroing out my e-fund). Got a better job that I've been doing for 3 months now (401k starts in a week or two).  Rebuilt a lot of the e-fund and back-filled some investing into a ROTH IRA. Net Worth is now about $11k. I found MMM a month into this job; so with higher salary, the $100k should be quicker. Estimated time: 3-4 years.

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #151 on: September 26, 2014, 09:35:56 AM »
Everyone is making me feel poor! I'm only 24, so I guess that's part of it. Only been out of school for a bit over a year. Had a job for 8 months out of school and then was unemployed for 5 months (zeroing out my e-fund). Got a better job that I've been doing for 3 months now (401k starts in a week or two).  Rebuilt a lot of the e-fund and back-filled some investing into a ROTH IRA. Net Worth is now about $11k. I found MMM a month into this job; so with higher salary, the $100k should be quicker. Estimated time: 3-4 years.

Don't compare yourself to others. :)

It will leave you feeling either lacking in comparison to others (just a form of keeping up w/ the Joneses), or holier/better than thou. Both are not that awesome. Much more awesome to be your own measuring stick and watch yourself progress and become more badass.

Chrissy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #152 on: September 26, 2014, 09:44:36 AM »
The first 100K took me 11.5 years; I was 31.  The second 100K took me 5.9 years; I was 36.  It would be lovely to hit 300K by the time I'm 40, and at this pace it seems likely... we'll see. 

The velocity of money is no joke!

boarder42

• Walrus Stache