Author Topic: Square foot gardening  (Read 4769 times)

Mr.Macinstache

• Pencil Stache
Square foot gardening
« on: July 07, 2014, 02:07:05 PM »
Growing a garden is like printing your own money.. so far this season the investment has already paid for itself. I have no pics at the moment, but following this book are reaping some handsome vegetative rewards in the form of cherry tomatoes, bell peppers, lettuce, white onions, carrots and more.

http://www.amazon.com/Square-Foot-Gardening-Second-Edition/dp/1591865484/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404763173&sr=8-1&keywords=square+foot+gardening

I've also used a $12 trash can and a $30 kit to capture rain water as a watering source.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005CJFBJE/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This is my first year gardening and all the investment has been done and recouped by the food grown. I literally harvest a head of lettuce every 3-4 days. Next year I'll be planning even better. If you have the space and not much time, I would consider it.

JeffC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Square foot gardening
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2014, 02:27:04 PM »
I too have started gardening and have found that by doing so I gain:

Access to the freshest, most delicious, carbon footprint free, organic produce. I too have broken even on costs meaning from now on its all free.
Membership in a community of other gardeners worldwide
Something fun to look at as I drink my morning coffee
A deeper and more meaningful connection to my food
The feeling of badassity that comes with incremental steps toward self sufficiency
Health, due to the fact that I always have fresh veg coming up as fast as I can eat it, making grocery stores and the temptations that come with them a rare occasion.  I have become partially vegetarian simply because it is a drag to have to go buy meat all the time. 

I use Larry Hall's Rain Gutter Grow System and if you're not familiar, check him out on youtube.  Mindblowing results, and I am able to do it as a renter!