Author Topic: removed  (Read 287997 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Southwest 100,000 bonus points + 2 years of Companion Status badass offer
« Reply #100 on: December 18, 2014, 04:53:30 PM »
Sure, but only the points that post after that will count for your 110k for 2015 - the ones you already had post in Dec obviously won't.

I haven't even activated my SW card I got in Oct, I'll do it, and all of it's spending, in early January.  No need to mess with figuring out when closing dates are, etc.  YMMV.  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

kudy

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #101 on: December 19, 2014, 09:51:00 AM »
I'm trying to wrap up my spending so that I get both the points and pass in mid-january, so I can book a flight for March.

nawhite

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Reckless Choice
« Reply #102 on: December 19, 2014, 10:47:37 AM »
I'm trying to wrap up my spending so that I get both the points and pass in mid-january, so I can book a flight for March.

I did this last year. One option to help yourself: if you have the points already or fly enough that you'll be buying flights with money to use with the Companion Pass eventually, buy the flight for yourself ASAP or whenever the flight is cheapest (which usually means earlier is better with Southwest). Once you get the companion pass you can add your companion to any already booked flight as long as there is a single seat free on the plane. There is no need to book them at the same time or wait until you get the companion pass to book your flight.

kudy

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #103 on: December 19, 2014, 11:15:00 AM »