Author Topic: Small Steps  (Read 2958 times)

wkumtrider

• Stubble
Small Steps
« on: May 28, 2015, 09:55:24 AM »
Today we dropped cable TV and I opened a couple of Vanguard index accounts.  I also skipped using the dryer to dry a load of laundry last night.  Hopefully these little steps will help save ca$h and help us reach our FI goal a little sooner.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Small Steps
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 10:03:30 AM »
Every little bit helps.  Way to go!  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

2ndTimer

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 01:05:33 PM »
I always found the small steps to be very motivating in terms of encouraging me to take the bigger ones.  When I was washing a plastic bag and realized that I could save enough to buy plastic bags for the next five years by changing my bank suddenly I was motivated to do it.  I still wash the plastic bags, though.  It gives me inspiration.

OddOne

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2015, 01:12:28 PM »
Great work wkumtrider! These don't sounds like small steps at all!

lezaline

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2015, 01:13:28 PM »
I'm glad you started this thread! I get overwhelmed by some of the longer threads that have been going on for awhile. We recently switch my husband's cell phone to Republic because it was so much cheaper to buy his phone through there than to "upgrade" on my work provided Verizon plan.