Author Topic: Selling Tradelines / Piggybacking Part II: $1000+/hr, 20-40k/yr. Side Gig  (Read 1992735 times)

solon

  • Handlebar Stache
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • Age: 1823
  • Location: OH
I've learned not to be attached to my cards. I have a dozen+- of them at any given time. All of them are tools, being used for one purpose or another. If something changes that makes a card not as valuable anymore, or better suited to a different use, I switch it out. And if a bank shuts one down, I shrug my shoulders and transfer my activity somewhere else. I don't have any cards that I would be upset to lose.

arebelspy

  • Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
  • *****
  • Posts: 28458
  • Age: -997
  • Location: Seattle, WA
As always, mitigate your risk.

The above poster reached out to me after Chase started investigating them.

They are using a TL company shilled in this thread* that I researched (and enrolled cards in, and had sales) and opted not to endorse/use any more after speaking with the owner and head programmer.

I thought the way they authenticated (or not) AUs created an increased shutdown risk. And then, for this poster, after two sales, Chase flagged them.

Likely coincidence (anyone can be shut down at any time), but still, IMO it's important where you sell your cards.

I've heard multiple stories of people getting shut down right away after a sale with various other companies. So even as bad as New Company is at paying (having to chase them down is so frustrating), I still appreciate their AU verification and how they keep the card holders safe. And Old Company is still the gold standard, IMO, other than a demand issue.


*Yet another reason we don't post company names. Someone did so a few times, this brand new poster saw it, tried them, and immediately had Chase having issues with them. That's a bummer to see.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

CornFarmer

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Live and learn - I'm now wondering if I just remove the two users but not close the account would be my best course of action. If the tradeline company is doing something shady then those lines would never even post - limiting my involvement. Again, if they close me so be it I just don't want to be accused of doing something illegal, because I now have reason to believe that these AUs may not have been properly verified by the tradeline company and for all I know they aren't even real people.

WayDownSouth

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Age: 193
  • Location: Outside
As always, mitigate your risk.

The above poster reached out to me after Chase started investigating them.

They are using a TL company shilled in this thread* that I researched (and enrolled cards in, and had sales) and opted not to endorse/use any more after speaking with the owner and head programmer.


*Yet another reason we don't post company names. Someone did so a few times, this brand new poster saw it, tried them, and immediately had Chase having issues with them. That's a bummer to see.

With all your knowledge, you should know that selling Chase is walking the tightrope right now in recent weeks.

When it comes to being honest, the "I can't recommend them" doesn't hold up under real-world logic. I've had 2 cards shutdown with the same comapny as Cornfarmer over a span of 3.5 years now. Your preferred companies performed FAR worse for me before I went 100% with the company we spoke about.

To each their own. As I said, I respect that this is your thread and I was literally and genuinely trying to help people here. I could care less about making money from it.

A "shill", is absolutely something I am not. I connected you to the owner. I explained my whole story to you. You know I'm not bullshitting. Anyway, agree to disagree. I have no hard feelings and have no reason to. Everybody is here making money on a great loophole.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2024, 04:14:10 PM by WayDownSouth »

WayDownSouth

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Age: 193
  • Location: Outside
Hmm...earlier this year I upped my Barclays credit limit to $25k and haven't had a sale since. This brought the commission schedule from $125 to $175 but again I haven't had any sales. Do upper credit limit cards not sell as well?

They were coming in pretty consistently when the credit limit was lower. 2 AU slots every few months. Anyone have any insight?

Most likely the company raised the price on your card by a much larger margin than the extra 50 you're getting paid for the higher limit. Couple that with using a company who has a potentially weak demand and you know have your answer.

The other problem could be that sometimes you'll encounter "grayish", middle-of-the-road places where certain cards will not sell very well. I've experienced this before. Example: Buyer wants this but it costs X, so it's more logical or economical to go a bit cheaper or go a bit higher.

PJC74

  • Stubble
  • **
  • Posts: 142
Had a large 1k+ fraudulent charge on my chase for tix in Calgary. What are the chances this is regular fraud vs the AU? Their card was sent to me.

arebelspy

  • Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
  • *****
  • Posts: 28458
  • Age: -997
  • Location: Seattle, WA
Had a large 1k+ fraudulent charge on my chase for tix in Calgary. What are the chances this is regular fraud vs the AU? Their card was sent to me.
If it were a charge from an authorized user, wouldn't it be authorized? (And then you'd be going wtf to the TL company.)

It's very likely a normal fraudulent charge, nothing to do with an AU.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

PJC74

  • Stubble
  • **
  • Posts: 142
Makes sense, Joe.
Another question. I just disputed the charge and concurrently got the alert to add a new AU to the chase card. With all that, would it be better to hold off on adding the AU?

arebelspy

  • Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
  • *****
  • Posts: 28458
  • Age: -997
  • Location: Seattle, WA
I don't personally mess with Chase, because I don't want to risk a shutdown with them.

Everything is to your own personal comfort level, so if you're worried, I'd probably play it safer, especially with that issuer.

That being said, I don't personally think they would have triggers around unauthorized charges and authorized user add/removals, but it's possible. (Perhaps people often mistake authorized user charges for a fraudulent activity, and report it, so they do flag it to look into it more?)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Padonak

  • Handlebar Stache
  • *****
  • Posts: 1040
Which cards/banks require you to to call to remove AUs? For me, it's Elan, USBank and Citi.

Calling to remove AUs is kind of annoying, is there any way around it for any of those banks? For example, with Chase, you can just message them.

Reddart67

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 75
I call them all in, except Chase and American Express (message), and Barclays(online).
« Last Edit: June 28, 2024, 01:41:23 PM by Reddart67 »

salt cured

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 383
Which cards/banks require you to to call to remove AUs? For me, it's Elan, USBank and Citi.

Calling to remove AUs is kind of annoying, is there any way around it for any of those banks? For example, with Chase, you can just message them.

The last time I added someone to Elan (Fidelity), I asked the rep about the online AU add function, which hasn't been working for me for the last few months. She said the website had been updated and online adds were no longer possible BUT that online removals were still ok. But I don't see the option for that...anyone know if online removal is possible?

Padonak

  • Handlebar Stache
  • *****
  • Posts: 1040

The last time I added someone to Elan (Fidelity), I asked the rep about the online AU add function, which hasn't been working for me for the last few months. She said the website had been updated and online adds were no longer possible BUT that online removals were still ok. But I don't see the option for that...anyone know if online removal is possible?

For me, it's possible to add AUs online but I have to call to remove them. This is for Elan and USBank.

Car Jack

  • Handlebar Stache
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
Live and learn - I'm now wondering if I just remove the two users but not close the account would be my best course of action.

NO!  Hopefully, you haven't done this yet.  My Chase account was shut down some time ago.  I asked why and they said that in a random check of my account, I had AUs added for a short time, then removed.  So if you want to be safe, stop adding for now and do NOT remove the AUs.  I would wait a year (pulled out of the air) to remove anyone.  And even then, I'd remove one, wait a quarter and then remove the next.  Short time AUs click their "cancel this one" switch.

kindoflost

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Kansas
  • always trying to learn
    • tradelines information for sellers
I could not agree more. I got a card shut down and ever since I don't remove the AUs when they tell me but rather when I have to because I reached the max AUs for the card and need to make room for a new customer.
Weirdly, I got a message some time ago to remove a specific AU because the guy complained that the card still showed in their report months after he bought the tradeline...

TheAgileCamel

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 16
I could not agree more. I got a card shut down and ever since I don't remove the AUs when they tell me but rather when I have to because I reached the max AUs for the card and need to make room for a new customer.
Weirdly, I got a message some time ago to remove a specific AU because the guy complained that the card still showed in their report months after he bought the tradeline...

Is there any DPs on if Chase closes down the Biz cards as well?

kindoflost

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Kansas
  • always trying to learn
    • tradelines information for sellers
I don't know about Chase. I got a Bank of America card closed and they closed both cards, personal and business. They left my checking alone. I have been a customer for 20+ years. I am about to apply for another card to see what happens.

Mr. Metal Mustache

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Midwest
I could not agree more. I got a card shut down and ever since I don't remove the AUs when they tell me but rather when I have to because I reached the max AUs for the card and need to make room for a new customer.
Weirdly, I got a message some time ago to remove a specific AU because the guy complained that the card still showed in their report months after he bought the tradeline...


Iíve sold my first few tradelines with good company. I have been removing the AU on the date it says to on my login portal with themÖ So youíre saying itís better to leave those AU on for longer to decrease risk? I did have us bank take them all off at the same time no issues but that was my first saleÖ

secondcor521

  • Walrus Stache
  • *******
  • Posts: 5631
  • Age: 55
  • Location: Boise, Idaho
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
I could not agree more. I got a card shut down and ever since I don't remove the AUs when they tell me but rather when I have to because I reached the max AUs for the card and need to make room for a new customer.
Weirdly, I got a message some time ago to remove a specific AU because the guy complained that the card still showed in their report months after he bought the tradeline...


Iíve sold my first few tradelines with good company. I have been removing the AU on the date it says to on my login portal with themÖ So youíre saying itís better to leave those AU on for longer to decrease risk? I did have us bank take them all off at the same time no issues but that was my first saleÖ

Not the person you asked, but...

It's a plausible theory.  CC companies are presumably OK with "normal" AU use, but dislike piggybacking - to varying degrees in my experience and observations.

I've long thought that the way CC companies try to cut down on piggybacking is to periodically run raids on their customers and do queries to identify piggybackers.  They have too many customers to look individually, so what would they put in a query to distinguish normal use from piggybacking behavior?

Total number of AUs lifetime would be one.  AUs with lots of different addresses or different last names might be another.  Quick adds and removes might also be used, which this strategy would avoid.  But removes followed immediately by adds might also be construed as risky behavior, which this strategy would exhibit.

Even if my theory is right - that CC companies periodically run queries - it is likely that nobody here knows how they distinguish.  And obviously different CC companies might distinguish in different ways, at different times, and use their query results differently:  blanket closures, review individually then close, close just the offending account or all, etc.

A person very worried about AU risk (not me, but could be some people) might also point out that the longer an AU is on the card, the longer there is for the AU to either commit fraud on the card (again, very unlikely).  Or just create issues in general like calling the CC company and asking them why the card is on their credit report.

Personally I remove the AU on the day the portal allows.  Occasionally a day or two later - I have two due to be removed today and one tomorrow, so I'm just going to do all three tomorrow.  Another (possible) benefit of my strategy:  A few weeks ago I had a same day request to add an AU on a very old, very large TL.  I was able to do the last minute add because I was home and saw the email and had the AU slot empty and ready to go.

Honestly, now that I write that all out, probably either way is fine.  Since the Good Company just requires you to wait until at least the portal date, they probably haven't observed any serious problems with leaving AUs on longer.

kindoflost

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Kansas
  • always trying to learn
    • tradelines information for sellers
I could not agree more. I got a card shut down and ever since I don't remove the AUs when they tell me but rather when I have to because I reached the max AUs for the card and need to make room for a new customer.
Weirdly, I got a message some time ago to remove a specific AU because the guy complained that the card still showed in their report months after he bought the tradeline...


Iíve sold my first few tradelines with good company. I have been removing the AU on the date it says to on my login portal with themÖ So youíre saying itís better to leave those AU on for longer to decrease risk? I did have us bank take them all off at the same time no issues but that was my first saleÖ

yes, especially for Citi Chase and BoA that are usually considered riskier

bangbang

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Could someone send me a message and let me know who I can sell American Express tradelines through? I have seen a poster on her say it can be done.

Mr. Metal Mustache

  • 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Midwest
@secondcor521 This was very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to respond. I have not yet sold a Chase or BOFA slot but also at the end of the day any card I have listed wonít make me cry if itís closed.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2024, 04:42:12 PM by Mr. Metal Mustache »

Pizzabrewer

  • Pencil Stache
  • ****
  • Posts: 691
Is it no longer possible to remove an AU online with Barclays?  I canít find a link to do it on the app or on the webpage. Itís been a while since I last had a Barclays AU but I remember it being easy to do.

TIA and sorry if this has already been discussed.

Car Jack

  • Handlebar Stache
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
I've been able to do the adds and drops online with Barclays.  Services > Authorized users and then it shows #1.  You can hit the next arrow to go to the next AU.

There's pros/cons to keeping or removing an AU.  Keeping makes it less risky with the CC company.  But the tradeline company may not offer you a new AU if you've not yet removed an AU.  I find that my new AUs show up shortly after I remove one.

Nutty

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
  • Location: Texas
  • Late but haven't missed the train.
Sold a tradeline for the third time to the same person.  What is the benefit to keeping a tradeline open for 6 months?  My understanding is these are to bump the credit score for one transaction.  Even a house sale should close within two months.

secondcor521

  • Walrus Stache
  • *******
  • Posts: 5631
  • Age: 55
  • Location: Boise, Idaho
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
Sold a tradeline for the third time to the same person.  What is the benefit to keeping a tradeline open for 6 months?  My understanding is these are to bump the credit score for one transaction.  Even a house sale should close within two months.

I assume the AU is just disorganized or procrastinates.

Car Jack

  • Handlebar Stache
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
Sold a tradeline for the third time to the same person.  What is the benefit to keeping a tradeline open for 6 months?  My understanding is these are to bump the credit score for one transaction.  Even a house sale should close within two months.

2 months is way fast to close.

I would guess an AU would first buy a tradeline.  Then get a pre-approval.  Then spend months looking for a house.  Then make an offer, get accepted and wait a couple months to close.  So I'd expect the bank to do a pull before giving a pre-approval and then again before actually approving the mortgage.  I've heard of them pulling again just before closing.  They don't want to be handing you the money if you and your spouse were both just laid off from your jobs.

MoseyingAlong

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Is anyone else having issues with Discover?

In early May I tried to add an AU, wouldn't go thru. Then I got the banner about no more AUs until early June. That changed to late June. That banner disappeared. When I tried to add one recently, the banner reappeared with mid-August.

There haven't been any AUs on the card since mid-May.

So now I'm wondering if Discover is limiting lifetime AUs.

Nutty

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
  • Location: Texas
  • Late but haven't missed the train.
Discover limits to 7 AUs per year.  I had to wait a year to add a new AU.

How many AUs have you added in the last 12 months?  I think this is a rolling number and not per calendar year.

MoneyTree

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
  • Location: SF Bay Area
    • Journal - The Best Time to Plant a MoneyTree
Everyone says discover allows 7AUs in a year including the TL company I'm selling with. On the discover page where I can add AUs it says 5. Can I only add 5 or is it 7? I sold 3 in 2 days time and don't want to oversell.
Discover will tell you when you reach your limit.  I sold 7 and was locked for a year.  They may change it with no notice.  My take is sell until Discover says no more then start checking in 8 months.

Discover has been inconsistent with this for my cards. Sometimes they will prevent more AUs sooner than I expect. Sometimes the block will mysteriously disappear before it is supposed to. Sometimes they will say that I can add more AUs after a specific date, and then the date will change for no reason. I would just check each month when deciding if your discover card should be made available for sales.

It is not a lifetime limit. It is a rolling limit, but Discover is very inconsistent with how it is applied, see the mini exchange quoted above...

MoseyingAlong

  • Bristles
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Everyone says discover allows 7AUs in a year including the TL company I'm selling with. On the discover page where I can add AUs it says 5. Can I only add 5 or is it 7? I sold 3 in 2 days time and don't want to oversell.
Discover will tell you when you reach your limit.  I sold 7 and was locked for a year.  They may change it with no notice.  My take is sell until Discover says no more then start checking in 8 months.

Discover has been inconsistent with this for my cards. Sometimes they will prevent more AUs sooner than I expect. Sometimes the block will mysteriously disappear before it is supposed to. Sometimes they will say that I can add more AUs after a specific date, and then the date will change for no reason. I would just check each month when deciding if your discover card should be made available for sales.

It is not a lifetime limit. It is a rolling limit, but Discover is very inconsistent with how it is applied, see the mini exchange quoted above...

Thanks for posting this.
Yes, inconsistent is the word for it.

Depending on how you count I've put 10-14 AUs on the one Discover card in the last year.