Author Topic: Scrap metal - free $  (Read 7881 times)

Hamilton Beachbum

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Scrap metal - free $
« on: August 29, 2012, 10:54:15 AM »
I just took 1200lbs of steel to the metal yard and received $117.  I work in IT at present and get most of the metal just by asking if I can take home stuff that is headed for the dumpsters.  Old data center cabinets are big and heavy, and telcom equipment often has heavy steel cases.  I have to go to work anyways (at present) so my cost is the additional fuel usage when dragging the trailer behind my '99 cavalier.   I am fortunate to live in the great city of Hamilton Ontario so the scrap yards are five minutes away from me.

Two9A

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • On the long road to zero net worth
Re: Scrap metal - free $
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 02:18:22 PM »
Scrap is great for this. When I was tearing out the bathroom, there were some nice hunks of copper that I handed in at $6/kilo. The sale price might be even higher now.

Brass and aluminum also seem to do well, if you can consistently source them.

jgarn3r

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 11:03:34 PM »
Great idea but have you considered the cost it would take to haul it from your work and then to the recyclers?

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 01:25:52 AM »
Nice one. I nearly had to take my Lada Niva to the metal recyclers... but thankfully a buyer came to the rescue.

James

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 09:11:56 AM »
I keep a look out for metal also, I take it to the scrap yard in town and donate the proceeds to our school.

It keeps the metal out of the landfills and prevents the mining of some small amount of new ore.

thor800

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2012, 11:29:13 AM »