Author Topic: Perhaps the single most Mustachian job, ever?  (Read 20702 times)

PFHC

• Pencil Stache
  • Busy doing.
Perhaps the single most Mustachian job, ever?
« on: September 02, 2015, 02:20:25 AM »
Howdy, folks.

Do you want to get 6 months of the year off, every year, yet still make great money? Do you want an interesting and stimulating job that is intellectual, physical, in an adventurous setting, active, ridiculously fun, and lets you see the world? If you are saying yes, then read on.

Become a merchant mariner.

Let me tell you about what it is that I do. I'm a marine engineer. We are the hardy, swarthy, resourceful bad ass engine side of merchant mariners. My title is Second Assistant Engineer. Google it. I work on a 800' ship. That’s big. In the simplest of terms, my crew of three and I operate, maintain, and repair the 54MW power plant and all the associated auxiliaries that run this beast. I run, spruce up, and fix great big stuff. It’s awesome.

There is another side of merchant mariners. The deck side… the Mates. They are the soft, pink, panicky not-so-bad ass side of merchant mariners. They drive the boat and spend lots of time shopping for things like shoes, watches, and embarrassing cars. I can write this about them because not one of them would be caught dead reading a forum such as this. They prefer sites like www.howcaniwastemymoneyonabunchofdumbshit.com.