Author Topic: Paying off 20% of home mortgage, maxing out 401K and HSA same time  (Read 2892 times)

DBV1985

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi all,

I am new to the MMM community and feel like I have finally found a community that shares views on spending and saving! I'm a first time home buyer and have a 2016 goal of paying off the 20% of my loan so that I can remove the stupid mortgage insurance and save a lot on interest. I know I know.. please don't fault me for buying a home without already putting down 20%. This home was the best deal I could find after years of researching the real estate in my town. I could not let it pass! I just knew that if I waited a year to save 20% to buy that the prices would keep rising and they did in just the last 3 months.

Here is where I am at currently:
My original loan was 4% interest, 290K and in 3 months I was able to bring it down to 270K. It is frustrating to be paying each month $900 towards interest plus mortgage insurance $130. So far I am renting out 2 rooms in my home in order to pay more towards principal. Additionally, for the first time this year I am maxing out my 401K and HSA contributions every pay period.  The human resource lady looked shocked when I asked to max it out. I needed to tell her what the max was because she didn't know lol. As much as I would love to put all the money towards the mortgage I feel more comfortable allocating it towards different investments. It is also beneficial because of tax advantages since my income is in the higher tax bracket. I really would love to be debt free again and get this mortgage completely paid off sooner than later. The interest on it is at 4%. Depending on how investments are in the future I may wait to pay it off but no longer than 15 years. This mortgage insurance fee needs to go ASAP! :D

If anyone has any other suggestions on ways to pay it off faster let me know!

J

steviesterno

• Bristles
Re: Paying off 20% of home mortgage, maxing out 401K and HSA same time