Author Topic: Paid Off the Last of Our $75k Student Loans Today  (Read 3785 times)

Jesse@Papermonger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Paid Off the Last of Our $75k Student Loans Today
« on: January 31, 2019, 01:41:52 PM »
First off, hooray! The intent of this post is not to brag, but to give hope to those who stare bug-eyed at MMM's sprint to retirement and are not progressing as rapidly as he did.

I graduated college in 2010 with a degree in elementary education. I lived and worked in a LCOL city, and out of necessity I adopted pretty Mustachian tenets right after graduating (looking now, I see my first comment was in Dec 2011). Like many people in my generation, no one ever sat me down and gave me a frank talk about what an appropriate amount of student loans should be. Also like many people in my generation, I'm not sure I would have listened anyway. Upon graduating, I had $75k in student loans.

My wife graduated two and a half years later (her parents paid everything for community college if she'd live at home), and we've consistently made about the same amount since (~$30k each in 2013, increasing steadily to ~$50k each today). We've had only a few gaps in employment and both made minor career changes along the way. We do not have children.

We live in a HCOL area now (which is most of the reason for the higher salaries), but I want to take this opportunity to commiserate with those of you who cannot expect huge raises YOY, especially those whose career areas frown upon job-hopping. With an overabundance of tech workers reading MMM, it can sometimes become an echo chamber of "Why don't you just move somewhere else" or "Use your skills in a different job" without acknowledging the real roadblocks some people face. I totally get it!