Author Topic: Omnibus Bike to Work thread  (Read 12579 times)

IowaStache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Omnibus Bike to Work thread
« on: May 16, 2014, 07:37:24 AM »
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 09:01:44 AM by IowaStache »

Thegoblinchief

Re: Omnibus Bike to Work thread
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 07:47:56 AM »
Started in October and kept with it all through the winter. My round trip is 20 miles.

I biked in a lot of small snowstorms, but without studded tires I bogged down in the larger ones when the roads hadn't been plowed yet. Most badass conditions were a negative -15F air temp with a windchill 30 degrees colder than that.

Breathable rain shells and insulated waterproof boots are must-haves for temps like that.

PindyStache

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2014, 11:47:19 AM »
I love all of these threads! :)

I've been biking to work for about 4 years, increasing from doing it fairly sporadically to 3-4 days regularly to 5 days/week nearly all the time, all seasons/weather. Plus, since 2 years ago, doing day care drop off & pick up.  ~10 miles each way when the roads are good. When it gets icy I take a longer route to avoid dangerous intersections, so can be up to ~13 miles one-way. My best time door-to-door is 32 minutes, including all time waiting at lights/etc., though I don't often time it anymore.

When my son was too little to ride in a seat/trailer (started him at daycare ~5 months, deemed him ready to ride at ~10 months), I'd put him in a wrap, walk 2 miles to day care with him and pulling along the bike. Then I'd bike back past my house and into the office, for ~12.5 miles one-way. These days we use a front-mount bike seat that I leave at day care during the day, for about 30 miles of biking across the whole day of trips.