Author Topic: Negative cost purchase  (Read 4670 times)

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
Negative cost purchase
« on: February 24, 2016, 07:20:41 AM »
I wanted an anti-Mustachian treat off of Amazon and didn't want to pony up the cash so I cobbled together 2 credit card offers, a gift card offer, a mobile app bonus, and a product rebate to fund the purchase.  Net cost -$19. (remaining as gift card credit).  If I were truly badass I would have used the credits for necessities, but I think it's time to live a little!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Negative cost purchase
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2016, 03:11:36 PM »
Haha.  The tricks we play, for amusement.  Well done.  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

MasterStache

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2016, 07:38:39 AM »
Hilarious. Good work!

Reminds me of a short trip we decided to take over spring break to do some hiking with the kids. Don't really feel like dropping down the dough for a cabin rental so I opened a new CC with a cash back reward that will cover the cost of the cabin. My wife just rolled her eyes.

ender

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2016, 06:12:18 PM »
I wanted an anti-Mustachian treat off of Amazon and didn't want to pony up the cash so I cobbled together 2 credit card offers, a gift card offer, a mobile app bonus, and a product rebate to fund the purchase.  Net cost -$19. (remaining as gift card credit).  If I were truly badass I would have used the credits for necessities, but I think it's time to live a little!

Amazon keeps tempting me with their $80 credit card offer...