Author Topic: My experience making homebrew cider for 5 years  (Read 9421 times)

lauren_knows

• Pencil Stache
  • Happiness is a choice
    • The Crowdsourced FIRE simulator
My experience making homebrew cider for 5 years
« on: October 03, 2014, 10:42:46 AM »
I've been meaning to make a detailed post about this every since MMM posted about "30 seconds of work to homemade homebrew" in April: http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2014/04/22/brew-your-own-cider/

I was finally pushed to write this because of another thread, and I hope that people find this helpful. Warning: This may be a long post.

Intro:
I wholeheartedly agree with MMM's premise that making Hard Cider is infinitely less time consuming than making Beer. That said, I think that spending ~1-2 hours on brew day, and perhaps 1 hour when it's done fermenting, can yield significantly better results and can teach you a lot about the process of brewing.  I've been homebrewing in one form or another for about 10 years, and specifically have been brewing cider/applewine for the last 5. I'm going to give a basic overview of the brew process, the bottling process, what equipment you might want, and how to go about trying new recipes.

Before I go into my write-up, I'd be putting the homebrewing community to shame if I didn't give a shout-out to www.homebrewtalk.com and www.reddit.com/r/homebrewing which are excellent resources for recipes and general knowledge. http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f81/edworts-apfelwein-33986/ is a great thread on Apfelwein (stronger stuff).  Homebrewing has a huge online presence. Seek out help when needed.

Equipment:
Being kind to the mustachian ways, I am a minimalist homebrewer. I'm going to give a list of the equipment that I consider completely necessary for a quality product. Be aware, though, that homebrewing is like many other hobbies: you can spend anywhere from the bare minimum all the way up to thousands of dollars for roughly the same end result.