Author Topic: Making the best of a horribly non-mustachian commute.  (Read 5865 times)

TheRealMFC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Making the best of a horribly non-mustachian commute.
« on: January 16, 2014, 09:23:43 AM »

I have an extremely non mustachian commute. 60 miles each way (I know, I know, I deserve a Mike-Tyson-in-his-prime facepunch for this). To make it worse, it is a commute that I have been doing for many years and it also costs me $300 in tolls per year. I used to accept the commute as something that was necessary and something that could not, and would not change - until I started reading through the entire MMM blog this past summer. Suddenly I realized how much time and $ I was wasting. I HAD to find a way to change.

The problem was that leaving my current job and/or moving from my current home are not options - at least not any time in the foreseeable future. (Just trust me on this one for now).

Here's what I've done to mitigate the problem.

1. Found a shorter route to work that doesn't include toll roads. This new route cuts 9 miles (each way) off of the drive. The "downside" is that I have to get up earlier or else traffic is bad with this alternate route. It turns out that this isn't actually a downside, however. I now get up earlier and hit the at-work gym before starting my workday - something that I've wanted to do for a very long time. Another side benefit is that I now shower at work, which saves money on hot water and electricity (well pump) at home. Since I get to work early, I can also leave work early and miss the afternoon rush hour - allowing me to take the shorter, non-toll route home as well. It's your classic win/win/win/win situation.