Author Topic: Longest owned continuously used item in your home?  (Read 31233 times)

WhiteTrashCash

• Handlebar Stache
Longest owned continuously used item in your home?
« on: October 31, 2020, 12:39:03 PM »
I just realized that I've been using the same laundry basket in my home since 1997, so 23 years of continuous use. What item in your home has been continuously used the longest?

mspym

• Walrus Stache
Re: Longest owned continuously used item in your home?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2020, 03:29:35 PM »
We have a cheese-slicer from the 70s that my husband's parents bought new and my husband took from home when he left for college/flatting in the 90s. So that's coming up 50 years of continuous usage. My one is a bedside lamp that my mum gave me that she acquired in the late 70s but was probably secondhand when she bought it [the base screams mid-century modern] so at least 45 years, most likely 60+.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2020, 03:32:16 PM by mspym »

Metalcat

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2020, 08:04:11 PM »
I have a halogen Ikea desk lamp that I stole from a guy in high school in 1997. I don't know how long he had had it by that point, probably a few years.

I've used it every single day since I stole it because I've always used it for getting ready in the morning, and my makeup and hair routine used to be rather intensive, so it was on A LOT, but the damn thing is still going and still on the original bulb.

I have some nearly 100 year old hair forks that got a ton of use when I had long hair, but they're metal with no moving parts, so I'm actually more impressed by the Ikea lamp.

Weisass

• Pencil Stache
    • "Deeper In Me Than I"
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2020, 08:31:26 PM »
We have a cuisinart pro classic food processor that my husband took with him to college in 1998. Before that it belonged to his mother (She upgraded when he took the old one) and it has to be at least 30 years old. It is still going strong and is well used.