Author Topic: Living by the Beach for ~$750/month TOTAL  (Read 15251 times)

Phillip

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Living by the Beach for ~$750/month TOTAL
« on: September 22, 2019, 08:03:47 PM »
Travel Insurance with emergency medical, dental, and evacuation coverage: $12.65/month
5-Star AirBnB five minutes from Jaco Beach: $504/month
Various groceries: ~$150/month
Gym: $35/month
Laundry: $40/month

All of this means I get to live right by the beach for less than the US Federal Poverty level. Jaco Beach is pretty safe, too, but this is coming from a guy who grew up in Akron. There's a lot of prostitution here, but it's legal so what do you expect?

My budget isn't that strict so I kinda guessed for the groceries. I try to get it lower but I'm a serious strength athlete so I eat a lot of beef and chicken. Normally I fill up on greek yogurt but I haven't been able to find it at any of the stores. Ditto with protein powder.

I work as a freelance writer. I write a couple articles a day and then I head down to the beach. My lifestyle is insane. It goes to show that it's not about how much money you make, it's about how you make the money. I make it online, so I can go anywhere.

With that said, it's still really hard. I usually bring in $1-2k, but this month I only made like $600, and I busted my ass for a good few weeks to do it. I know I can find the clients, though. I cast a wide net, and this month I caught a bunch of small fish, but next month will be different. Also no one my age is doing this, so I have to aggressively learn Spanish to make friends. Yo apprendiendo espanol rapidamente.

I think the biggest tip in this post is this: Decent travel insurance is INSANELY cheap. If you have a remote job and are a healthy 20-something, get out of the country and go explore just to take advantage of travel insurance. September 9th through December 5th, my policy cost $44. That's it. It won't cover regular trips to the doctor, but it's good enough for me.

Phillip