Author Topic: Just retired @ 27  (Read 17349 times)

math-ya

• Stubble
Just retired @ 27
« on: March 18, 2015, 01:43:28 PM »
Hello everyone! I only recently discovered your site, but I think I'll fit right in.  I can tell you about myself. I graduated college in dec 2008 with a degree in finance and entrepreneurship from a top ten b-school. Even with 20k a year in tuition, I was able to graduate with only 8k in debt.  I did this from high school savings(15k) and flipping cars on the weekends from local government property auctions.
In dec 2008 I also started my first 'real' job in the manufacturing/finance industry.  The first day that I went in, all I could imagine was the last day that i had to go to that place.  To say that i didnt like it would be a massive understatement.  Even though I was only working around 40 hrs/week, the job was basically consuming my life.  the worst part was that this job was not getting me anywhere, financially speaking.
So after a year I decided to regroup. I quit my job, and moved back to my hometown, where I knew the real estate market, and houses were cheap.  I finally concluded that if a job was going to consume my entire life I would have to make it financially worthwhile.  Being a recently grad with little experience, I couldn't get any high paying jobs.  So I took up 2 full time jobs, and one part timer. In addition to those 3 jobs I had another side job that I was able to complete while I was working my other 3 jobs.  And if I had free time I would do handyman jobs or promotional work.
The money started rolling in, and I was too busy working to spend it. I bought my first duplex within one year.
Next year, one more duplex.
So now I have 6 units ( 5 rented, 1 I live in)
Over the past year I have been shedding my jobs, and now all i do in manage my properties (5 hrs+-/month)
Im making about 30k after tax in passive income, which isnt a ton, but I have basically no bills.