Author Topic: Just maxed out my 401k for the year  (Read 2437 times)

ian055

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Redpoint Life
Just maxed out my 401k for the year
« on: September 17, 2018, 08:34:57 AM »
This is the 5th year in a row that I've maxed out my 401k. Next year I plan to front load my contributions so that I'm maxed out earlier in the year. I wish I had been doing this since I first started my career (2003). But I've been maxing out my Roth since 2005. :D

ixtap

• Magnum Stache
    • Our Sea Story
Re: Just maxed out my 401k for the year
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2018, 08:48:44 AM »
Does your company match happen per paycheck, as you contribute, or with a true up at the end of the year? Don't want to miss out!

MrsDinero

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 08:51:07 AM »
Great job!

ian055

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Redpoint Life
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 08:59:48 AM »
Does your company match happen per paycheck, as you contribute, or with a true up at the end of the year? Don't want to miss out!
Unfortunately, they don't match and to make things worse the fees in my plan are ridiculous (.25%), which is why it took me so long to start really contributing let alone maxing it out. My previous company did match 50% of the first 6%, then 25% from 10-15%(of the contribution). I think there I was only doing 12%.

Duke03

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2018, 11:43:18 AM »
Good Job.  I max my 401k out every year also, but I just spread it out so it doesn't max till mid Dec.  I currently max out two pensions and a 401k.  I was hoping this year I'd be able to max out my IRA also, but.... we've had some surprise expenses totaling about 10k.  I could pull from my emergency fund to make it happen....but probably won't.   Of course the year isn't over yet, but with property taxes Christmas and all the insurance due in December it's tough.

ian055

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Redpoint Life
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2018, 11:51:50 AM »