Author Topic: Just finished teaching college freshmen personal finance class  (Read 2698 times)

monstermonster

• Magnum Stache
Just finished teaching college freshmen personal finance class
« on: October 10, 2015, 05:10:49 PM »
Just taught a 3-part, 3-week class on personal finance to college freshmen at my alma mater. On the class evaluations I got these comments:

By jove, I think they got it!

Also a favorite: I taught them the definition of FU money, and multiple students said "FU money" as their long-term financial goal.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2015, 05:12:31 PM by monstermonster »

turketron

• Pencil Stache
Re: Just finished teaching college freshmen personal finance class
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2015, 07:11:36 PM »
That's awesome! Honestly I don't understand how a basic personal finance course isn't a requirement to graduate high school, before you ever get to college. I never took one myself but I worked as a bank teller throughout high school so I picked up the basics (and way more) on the job, but regardless I think it should still be required.

Besides compound interest and FU money, what else did you cover in your class?

monstermonster

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2015, 04:15:21 PM »
I did a handful of things. I started with the definition of "financial well being" and talked about the values about money and how money is an expression of something's value and worth - including intangible things like "security" and "family".

I made them track all their expenses for a week as homework and talk about what it made them realize - then we did budgeting exercises and I ran through the different apps/methods for budgeting. Everyone determined their appropriate Emergency fund amount and they made a plan for getting there, and for building up a "buffer" (a la YNAB).