Author Topic: Increasing My Hourly Income by 250% in 3 Years - Without a Degree (Freelance)  (Read 3779 times)

FreelanceToFreedom

• Stubble
Hey all - I'd like to share some recent successes I've found in an alternative line of work to most people here.

I’m a freelance writer and editor. I do blogging, copywriting, content marketing and some light SEO work. I’ve always dabbled in this industry, but I started taking things more seriously about 3 years ago. I’ve never had a “real” job, and have always done my own thing in one way or another. After figuring out that I really didn’t enjoy college and dropping out, I decided I needed to focus more on developing skills, finding new clients and making a career out of writing.

And I’m happy to report that I’ve been more successful in that pursuit than I thought possible!

A rough timeline:

2015 - charging 4-5 cents a word, ~$20-$30 per hour
2016 - charging 5-7 cents a word, ~$30-$40 per hour
2017 - charging 7-10 cents a word, ~$40-$60 per hour (+ billing at $60/hr for editing and copywriting)
Mid-2018 - charging 10-15 cents a word, ~$60-$90 per hour (+ billing at $75/hr for editing and copywriting)

Keep in mind that while my hourly figures are certainly high, it’s not the same as an hourly employee making that much. I have a decent amount of non-billable time, some expensive software subscriptions I pay for, no benefits, no health insurance, no paid time off, higher SS & medicaid tax liability, etc. I also can’t work creatively for long stretches of time, so I typically work 20-30 hour weeks at most, and spend some time volunteering/doing housework once my brain turns to mush. Certainly not complaining - but perspective is important when comparing income of contract workers to salaried workers.

Lessons Learned
(these apply directly to freelancers/contractors, and may or may not be relevant to salaried employees)

Don’t be afraid to ask