Author Topic: I woke up today and realized I love my job  (Read 3486 times)

clairebonk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Wear a mask
I woke up today and realized I love my job
« on: October 14, 2020, 08:34:10 PM »
I haven't thought about retiring in awhile (still working towards FIRE but not obsessed with it). I realized today that I'm finally at a place in my career where I enjoy my colleagues, respect my company, and have great work/life balance. I will definitely quit when we hit our number. But, I can finally enjoy working towards FIRE compared to before when I felt frustrated and empty.

I have to say the biggest investment I made was working towards a career I enjoy and finding a good fit (after many, many bad fits, so many that I gave up a few times only to be pulled back in by people who saw my potential).

I'm a software engineer and the one thing I'm passionate about is making tech more accessible and palatable to women and BIPOC. I feel the best way to do that is to be a female software engineer lead. Be visible, lift colleagues up, etc. So, now I'm not even thinking about quitting when I FIRE because when I'm FIRE I want to do the same thing as when I'm not FIRE. Do you know what I mean? That's the great thing about FIRE. It's almost unlimited options.

expatartist

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I woke up today and realized I love my job
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2020, 12:38:05 AM »
Probably one of the top 5 thread titles on MMM. Congrats! It's a great place to be.

mspym

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2020, 02:27:40 AM »
That is legitimately splendid. Power to your elbow!

LPG

• Stubble
    • 1000x Faster Blog
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2020, 09:10:43 AM »