Author Topic: I'm 23, make 20k / year, and here's why I'm happy.  (Read 6550 times)

Powforbreakfast

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm 23, make 20k / year, and here's why I'm happy.
« on: January 27, 2015, 10:19:56 AM »
The cut and dry -- I figured I would share my living situation because it's an interesting perspective in the scope of money.  I decided to share here because people are often flabbergasted at what I do and I wanted to assess some mustachian responses.

I graduated from a prestigious university with good marks as a Biology Major in 2013.  Long story short, I'm super fortunate to have ridiculously smart parents that invested as much as possible.  We own a multi-million dollar business and to this day my parents still live in a remodeled double-wide mobile home.  In the desert.  On our farm. I am essentially a trust-fund baby.  I've been receiving the maximum non-taxable gift legally possible for 3 years now (14k this year) because my dad wants to pass on his wealth over time as tax-incentived as he can.  One day my brother and I will co-own the majority of the business.

So, being privileged as I am and knowing I want to work in the same industry (fermentation science), I decided to take a fairly non-mustachian path for the next decade, knowing I could be immediately wealthier had I chosen a different door.  For wine production, making decisions based on climate, geography, and subjective and objective qualities that change seasonally is what makes one a superb winemaker, which is my goal one day.