Author Topic: How biking saves money  (Read 11618 times)

Raislin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How biking saves money
« on: May 09, 2015, 09:12:20 PM »
I sold my car in February and began walking/biking 2 miles to work every day.  On April 30th, I started training at a new job that is 10 miles one way and 11 the other (I take a different, safer route home).  The training at my current location ends on Tuesday and that is also the day I will break 200 miles of biked commuting in May.

Next comes four weeks of a drive commute for more training, as the distance is about 35 miles each way.  Once that's done, I'll settle comfortably at an 8 mile bike ride to and from work everyday!

Excluding grocery trips -- only done once every month or two, and also on my bike -- and any extracurricular travel, I expect to travel 80 miles every week by bicycle.  If I can successfully do this during the winter months, that's roughly 4200 miles in a year.  My estimated vehicle-related savings is $7800 per year and I average 15 miles per hour on my rides (a few hills, but it's almost constantly windy here, so I usually go very fast one way and struggle a bit the other direction).  If I consider that my car would have only been used for commuting to and from work, it's as if I'm saving $27.86 per hour while biking.

The further one has to bike, the smaller that number becomes.  Conversely, the shorter the distance, the higher it becomes.  At my old job (2 mile commute each way), I get $112.50 per hour of biking.  At my second training location, which is 35 miles out, the rate is $6.43 per hour -- less than minimum wage.  $27.86 is more than double what I'll be pulling in at my new job, so it's clear that the ride is worth both the time and effort.

lpep

• Bristles
    • My MMM journal
Re: How biking saves money
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2015, 12:12:37 AM »
What are your calculations?

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache
    • Syonyk's Project Blog
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2015, 12:55:43 PM »