Author Topic: Home gym ownership savings  (Read 7008 times)

Slow2FIRE

• Bristles
Home gym ownership savings
« on: July 16, 2016, 12:19:38 PM »
My home gym (which I just recently completed with an acquisition of powerblock dumbbells from craigslist at a great price ~ roughly 40% of MSRP which is unheard of on craigslist as I've been scanning the ads for several years now) has saved me roughly $2500 vs gym membership assuming an average $30 / month membership fee.

I've had a home gym setup in various stages of completion and component acquisition since 2006.
Consisting of:
Power cage (with pullup station and dip station)
(incline to flat) Adjustable hvy duty bench
 horse stall mats
powerblock dumbbells
320lbs of bumper plates and change plates
7' bar
pulley machine for low row and lat pulldown
...and a few odds and ends (jump ropes, resistance bands, various handles for pulldown machine, chalk)

Laserjet3051

• Pencil Stache
Re: Home gym ownership savings
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2016, 01:48:51 PM »
I, too searched CL for the powerblock dumbells, hoping to get a good discount off the high MSRP. After 2 years of continuous searching, with zero luck, I bit the bullet and bought them at the store. They are an integral part of my home gym that, like you, have saved me lots of gym membership $$$s over the years

Jaguar Paw

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2016, 02:15:48 PM »
I have been toying around with the idea of a home gym as my wife and I pay around 250 each for membership. The initial investment of a home gym just seems sooooooo expensive though.

brute

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2016, 02:42:10 PM »
I think it's worth it for the home gym. If you aren't a competitive lifter, then you can get away with relatively cheap stuff. $400 for a rack and a bench, maybe another $400 in bars and plates. That will get you started, and you can add on things as you go.