Author Topic: Got a raise  (Read 4510 times)

Murse

• Pencil Stache
Got a raise
« on: December 17, 2015, 04:27:33 PM »
I graduated nursing school less then six months ago then had a 6 week wait to take the NCLEX, after passing the Exam and looking for jobs it seemed all of my prospects were filled by classmates, I got some interviews but none of the hospitals seemed interested. I decided to give in and go try a long term care home, not what I wanted. I was working the night shift, making 28$/hr with a whopping .50c differential for working nights, when my classmates were getting 33.50 base pay with an 18% differential for working nights. I was torn because I was greatful the long term care home gave me a chance, but was being very underpaid. I posted a thread here and many said to leave, I said I wouldn't. Then I got an email asking for an interview from a place I had applied just after passing my boards, also a classmate posted that her hospital was looking for nurses, so I decided if I was going to interview at one I might as well apply for the other. Interviewed for both the same day and the next day woke up to two offers. One at a small hospital for the night shift probably making around 31$/hr, the other at the county jail making 33.5$/hr with great benefits and 40hrs/week (vs the traditional 3 12hr shifts) I took the county jail job while I was still training at the long term care home, they just renegotiated our contract now, I'm getting a raise to 36$/hour!

Long story short, in approximately 6 months I went from making 28.5/hr night shift to 36$/hr and will have to work night shift for a quarter but will switch to swing shift after that.

aFrugalFather

• Stubble
    • Life/Finance Blog
Re: Got a raise
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 04:29:56 PM »
Congrats!  Onwards and upwards. 

trailrated

• Handlebar Stache
  • a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 04:33:48 PM »
Wooooo! Kick ass and take names :)

Bearded Man