Author Topic: going away, eating fridge down, turning fridge off  (Read 5775 times)

Ogriv

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
going away, eating fridge down, turning fridge off
« on: January 08, 2016, 02:21:40 AM »
This is screamingly obvious, but I've never done it before.

Next week I'm going away for four days for work.

I'm going to eat everything in the fridge, then turn that fucker off while I'm away.

Adventine

• Handlebar Stache
Re: going away, eating fridge down, turning fridge off
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2016, 02:26:44 AM »
I did this too before going out of town for a week.

If, like me, you have the kind of fridge/freezer that ices up, remember to put an empty container inside to catch the dripping water as the ice melts!

Ogriv

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2016, 12:35:47 PM »
Amen to that

xx

MsSindy

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2016, 12:50:24 PM »
Wait, but don't you have things that you cook with like sauces, condiments (ketchup, mustard, mayo), jam, butter - stuff that wouldn't really be practical to "eat up" ....or do you keep a really bare fridge? 

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2016, 12:52:54 PM »
For just four days?  This seems crazy.  Maybe for four weeks.

Just make sure you store the fridge with the door OPEN.  I've seen turned off fridge, that were thoroughly cleaned (with bleach) before storage get disgusting when stored with the door closed.  Though possibly 4 days isn't long enough for that to happen.

Lordy

• Stubble
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2016, 01:07:10 PM »
I am not sure that will actually safe you money.

Running the numbers, the average fridge should cost you about $5 per month to run (calculating with european electricity cost which is higher than the US).
Therefore, shutting it down for 4 days will probably "safe" you around a buck in electricity.