Author Topic: Getting Things Done  (Read 12003 times)

mobilisinmobili

• Stubble
  • Advance daily
Getting Things Done
« on: February 27, 2013, 02:31:17 PM »
I'm curious how many mustachians use David Allen's organizational system either partially or whole-hog. I find that when I'm doing it properly (I fall off the wagon from time to time), it's the the most productive that I've ever been.

I use the flow chart, weekly review, and Doit.im to manage tasks.

Wonder if other people have been having success with it?

Use it up, wear it out...

• Stubble
Re: Getting Things Done
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 03:10:07 PM »
I've been using it since 2003, and have turned several people at my office on to it. It's great. It also helped me think about what to do when I discovered MMM and wanted to start down this path.

shusherstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2013, 03:23:47 PM »
I use it primarily for work but also find it helps me to organize my home life rather efficiently.  It's been a real time-saver and has made me ridiculously more productive (which has led to some great new opportunities at my job).

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2013, 09:00:52 PM »
Thank you for reminding me that I need to get back on the wagon.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2013, 09:57:33 PM »
I found GTD too heavy for me.

Guess I'm not that busy of a person.  Maybe if I were a CEO or something.

Anyways, it was just too much work, I kept not doing it, and, like the above poster, kept needing to "get back on the wagon."

Once I finally admitted that, I started doing a lot better.  I ended up going to a "Simplified GTD" system first explained by Gina Trapani of Lifehacker here: http://lifehacker.com/335269/practicing-simplified-gtd