Author Topic: Fixing small appliances & Buying nothing  (Read 2869 times)

cooking

• Stubble
Fixing small appliances & Buying nothing
« on: November 12, 2019, 07:11:27 PM »
I borrowed the June/July 2019 issue of Mother Earth News from my library, and they had a couple articles I thought might be of interest to people on these forums.

I'm not very good with tech stuff so I might not be able to set up direct links, only give URLs.

The first article was about "repair cafes" which function as public hubs where people can bring broken items to get assistance with repairs or where volunteers can offer repair expertise in a particular field.  Free, but donations welcome.  It said to find or start a repair cafe in your community, go to www.RepairCafe.org/EN

The other article was about free exchange of goods organization made up of neighborhood Facebook groups (says that b/c of the hyperlocal nature, all transactions are with neighbors).  To see if your neighborhood participates: www.BuyNothingProject.org/Find-A-Group.  If not, start a group by filling out the form at www.BuyNothingProject.org/Start-A-Group

BECABECA

• Bristles
  • Retired since July 2017, not bored yet!
Re: Fixing small appliances & Buying nothing
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2019, 12:31:04 PM »
Thanks for sharing, the repair cafes sound really neat. It looks like there isn’t one near me close enough to bike to, but hopefully the community continues to grow. I’d totally volunteer at a local one, but I don’t think I have the drive to start one myself.

MrsPennyPincher

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2019, 04:42:28 PM »
Buy nothing groups are great, you can find all sorts of stuff for free, and also can get rid of stuff responsibly! If there is an active one in your area, I highly recommend mustachians to join. Is especially great for kids clothes and books, as well as one-time use items (think Halloween costumes)

Much Fishing to Do

• Handlebar Stache