Author Topic: First week of YNAB means more money for FIRE  (Read 8270 times)

oinkette

• Stubble
  • Well behaved women rarely make history.
First week of YNAB means more money for FIRE
« on: July 09, 2015, 10:04:03 AM »
So I started my free trial of You Need a Budget this past week.

Back story: Earlier this year I sold my house and moved in with a friend.  Living costs went down from monthly 843(not including flood, HOA, lawncare, repairs, etc) to $400.  I also no longer have to pay for internet or utilities. I'm also 3 miles from work as opposed to 12. So all in all very mustachian. Yay me!

But I still kept ~$2000 in my bank account as my buffer to cover all my costs, since that's what I lived off of pre-move. I've never done budgeting before and it has worked well for me, but I decided to try YNAB to see what all the fuss was about. Actually sitting down and projecting my monthly and annual costs was eye opening.  I actually spend less on groceries than I previously thought.  Auto insurance broken down month was a bite though. So there I was "giving all my dollars a job" and I was left with about $900 left over with no job to do, even after factoring in all the rainy day stuff. So thanks to YNAB my savings rate just went up!

midweststache

• Pencil Stache
Re: First week of YNAB means more money for FIRE
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2015, 10:14:19 AM »
YNAB completely changed the way I engaged with finances. I recommend it to everyone. It's amazing what seeing everything laid out does, and I love that it's malleable for when life throws your curveballs. I assume you'll spring for the software then? Best $60 I ever spent...

oinkette

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2015, 12:49:02 PM »
Yeah, I'm just riding out the rest of the trial. If anyone wants to offer a referral for the $6 off I'm open to it! ;)

Nougatron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2015, 01:51:11 PM »