Author Topic: First Tenant!  (Read 6449 times)

MoonPilgrim

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First Tenant!
« on: August 31, 2012, 07:54:36 AM »
Someone is willing to pay money to live in my old house.  Deposit paid, moving in on September 7th.  Mortgage targeted to be paid off by the end of the year, feeling really positive about my FI journey today!

WOOT-WOOT!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: First Tenant!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2012, 08:18:55 AM »
That's awesome.  :D

That's one of my favorite parts about owning real estate ... other people pay for it for me!

If I could get stock, and have other people pay for it, and then at the end I'd own it, I'd be all over that.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

MoonPilgrim

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2012, 11:49:42 AM »
Thanks, Arebelspy.  It's addictive, I can't wait to start looking for the next house.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2012, 12:16:07 PM »
And like so many other addictions, you will find yourself still doing it long after the thrill is gone......

I'm not sure what's worse, managing employees or managing tenants for a living.  At least tenants pay ME for the privilege!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2012, 12:38:32 PM »
And like so many other addictions, you will find yourself still doing it long after the thrill is gone......

I'm not sure what's worse, managing employees or managing tenants for a living.  At least tenants pay ME for the privilege!

Heh, a very sage (and sobering) thought.