Author Topic: First piece of furniture I've ever built!  (Read 5161 times)

bbates

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First piece of furniture I've ever built!
« on: July 07, 2014, 11:15:03 AM »
I've never built a piece of furniture before, but with the recent purchase of our first home and needing some things here and there, I decided to take on the task.  It's not perfect, but I'm really proud of it and I learned a lot of things throughout the process.  It cost probably 1/5th of what a similar table would cost at the store and the satisfaction it's given me can't be bought anywhere!  Looking forward to building more!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/82239326@N07/14411087788

*Update: I should mention, I didn't design the table.  It's a modified version of this guy!  -->http://ana-white.com/2012/07/plans/rustic-x-coffee-table
« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 11:26:47 AM by bbates »

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Built my own coffee table!
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2014, 11:16:16 AM »
That's a nice coffee table!

Icecreamarsenal

• Pencil Stache
  • Burnt
Re: First piece of furniture I've ever built!
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2014, 11:23:12 AM »
Wow, nice!

JCfire

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2014, 11:48:16 AM »
Nice table!  That Ana White site is a goldmine for furniture plans that don't require much in the way of up-front investment in fancy tools.  I think everything on that site can be built without a table saw, planer, or jointer, for example.

Michael792

• Stubble
    • Rising Ascendant
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2014, 11:51:09 AM »
That is an awesome table! I bet you could bring some side money in building things like that, whether or not you designed it.

Exflyboy

• Walrus Stache
  • Expat Brit living in the New World..:)
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2014, 11:55:19 AM »
That is really nice.. well done!

Frank

bbates

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2014, 11:56:44 AM »
Thanks everyone!

JCfire - Yes, it's a great site!