Author Topic: First Bike Commute to Work!  (Read 2425 times)

JimJimster

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First Bike Commute to Work!
« on: April 27, 2018, 08:25:48 AM »
I guess after signing up for this forum and riding my bike to work, I'm officially a Mustachian!

My commute is exactly 5 miles and is about 90% paved bike trail. The trail runs through a beautiful state park for about half the distance as well. I only started reading MMM 2 weeks ago but I've made some radical changes in my life and the bike commuting is one that excites me the most because of the environmental, economical, and personal health benefits. My office has multiple private showers and space to keep my bike indoors. I've been working here for almost 2 years, why did it take me so long to ride to work?!

https://instagram.ford1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/vp/5e8e5385f93ac1b60f0b33061baf4724/5B5FB974/t51.2885-15/s640x640/sh0.08/e35/30603898_193113337974302_7359541923301818368_n.jpg my ride.

Cheers to all my fellow bike commuters and Mustachians!

PlainsWalker

• Stubble
Re: First Bike Commute to Work!
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 08:53:33 AM »
Congratulations! Keep it up.
That is a great setup all around from the showers and bike storage to the route.

erutio

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2018, 09:32:24 AM »
Congrats!  Very nice to hear!
+Not having to deal with cars on the trail, +scenery, +showers at work, +indoor bike storage.  Sounds like a great set up you got there.

Oliver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2018, 03:00:38 PM »
Nice! That sounds like a really lovely bike commute. And five miles is nothing to sneeze at for a first-time ride to work.

Optimiser

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2018, 03:05:12 PM »
Congratulations! It sounds like your situation is perfect for bike commuting.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2018, 03:14:14 PM »
It's a lovely time of year to start riding to work!

dougstash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow