Author Topic: Financial Trajectory!  (Read 4442 times)

Mustache_In_Training

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Financial Trajectory!
« on: April 09, 2014, 11:06:15 AM »
I started reading MMM about 8 months ago and was instantly hooked. In that time, a lot of changes have been made and are still happening. I'm giddy with excitement so I have to share our progress! I would like to share this info with friends, but don't want to come off as braggadocios or condescending when explaining how soon I will be able to never work again. My wife and I are both fortunate enough to have engineering jobs in which we make a nice salary, that is definitely a driving force behind our ability to save.

In the past 8 months we went from a savings rate from <10% to ~50% and drastically reduced our spending. All the while ratcheting up savings to 401k, Roth IRAs and began to divert money to a taxable investment account as well. It's been an exciting time for us.  So, being an engineer, I geek out with excel and enjoy making graphs. I have graphed our investments and debt over time. The only debt we have is a mortgage 160k@4.75% which we are attacking with vigor by doubling up payments. Essentially, barring nuclear fallout or a zombie apocalypse we should have NO debt and over $1M in 9 years! This is just by going on autopilot savings, not doing anything differently than we currently are. Sweet!

Currently I am 27, wife is 25 - We should be able to enjoy a comfortable retirement by our mid 30's.

P.S. We are still spending too much, I have attached our monthly spending so you can punch me in the face or offer any suggestions!

« Last Edit: April 09, 2014, 01:22:21 PM by Mustache_In_Training »

warfreak2

• Handlebar Stache
    • Music by me
Re: Financial Trajectory!
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2014, 11:30:43 AM »
Welcome.

$125/month on phone bills, plus $36/month on internet - this is quite a lot. See this thread, you can almost certainly get this down by more than half.