Author Topic: Caddyshock  (Read 6770 times)

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
  • A hybrid of MMM and thoughtful consumer.
Caddyshock
« on: June 02, 2013, 08:26:38 PM »
Well, the missus and I took the biggest step possible on the quicker road to financial independence - we turned in our resignation to our country club.  We have been members eight years and I thoroughly enjoy golfing and the people there, so this was not an easy decision for us (I am sure many of you are laughing at the very notion of spending $575 a month at a club, but lots of people do it, including many who are financially independent).  Thing is, we aren't financially independent yet and I would very much like to be.  Or, at the very least, have a much bigger safety cushion than we have now.

I had been considering this for several months but it wasn't until I discovered this site via the Washington Post that I was able to take a new perspective on things.  Lots of things bring a great deal of joy to my life besides golf, so filling the void should not prove to be a great challenge.  And whereas one of my goals was to finally shoot par (and I got oh so close a few times...) my newest goal is to get the missus retired near the end of 2016.

My friends and family were surprised to hear I had started biking home on occasion, and that I had lost weight, and that we had found a number of ways to quit consuming so much.  But when they heard I was giving up the club?  Caddyshocked.

FlorenceMcGillicutty

• Stubble
Re: Caddyshock
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2013, 08:51:33 PM »
Nice job. I can relate to this because my hubs and I are high earners, high spenders but trying to do much better. But wow, $575/mo! Holy cow that's a lot of money! That will go a looong way towards getting you and your wife to retirement.

You did the right thing. I like how you said that even though you enjoy the club, you can't afford it right now because you're not FI. That's the kind of thinking I need too. Thanks for the reminder.