Author Topic: Before and After MMM  (Read 2524 times)

ginjaninja

• Bristles
    • My Journal
Before and After MMM
« on: January 08, 2018, 01:35:01 PM »
I started reading MMM in late November 2017.  I was looking at all of my spending for the year and realized that my hair was on fire.  I have been using Mint for almost 2 years so I have a pretty good history of my spending that I usually don't look too far into.  December 2017 was the first month I was actually proud to see. 

Not including rent, my average spending was $1,700 per month from January-November 2017.  This includes gas, entertainment, eating out, alcohol, shopping, amazon, traveling, cellphone, insurance etc.

Not including rent, my spending in December 2017 was $501.  This included Christmas presents for my friends and family, my share of the adopt a family I participate in each year, all car expenses, insurance, cell phone, entertainment, and food. 

I am so thankful to this community for showing me that a few quick changes have made a huge difference.  I have really not changed my lifestyle much and I know there is room to become even more Mustashian in the future. 

EmFrugal

• Stubble
Re: Before and After MMM
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 02:44:14 PM »
Awesome work!!

Now just keep it up each month and you will be surprised by all the savings that pile up. I'm always amazed by how great my life feels now that I'm not spending as much as I used to.

Much of my spending pre-MMM was complete and total waste that I don't miss one bit. It's helped me save a lot and focus on the most important things in life. Win-win :)

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 04:07:33 PM »
500 a month thats being frugal! Nice Job. I assume your living at home or not paying rent? if thats the case then yea, save it up!!

wordnerd

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 04:09:59 PM »
That's amazing! Awesome job!

Brother Esau

• Pencil Stache