Author Topic: 6am biking on cold country roads  (Read 2405 times)

Lan Mandragoran

• Bristles
6am biking on cold country roads
« on: March 01, 2018, 10:28:41 AM »
My car junkered out recently. So instead of buying a new cheap car, I have started biking to work :).

This deserves badassity because, I have to get up at 5am and leave at 6, bike half a mile on 60mph road, hop on a country gravel road(on hybrid tires its a bit rough), go 4 or 5 miles and then hop back on the bigger roads (which doesn't feel terribly safe I will admit).

I'm sure others here are more crazy, but i've never been hugely into bikes and 6 months ago I was like... yeah thats never happening. So yeah cool :). My coworkers and family all think I've lost my mind and will shortly get run over...

My office (I'm a sys admin at an electric coop) is just a huge truck and SUV parking lot, literally not a single person drives a car, let alone a bike, so their reactions are comical.

PS. Also anyone think I should get an ebike? If I had a mountainbike ebike, it would handle the gravel with ease, and be fast enough to be doable on the faster roads. I want to... but at that point(1400$ maybe to build one?) it seems like maybe I should just get a car.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2018, 10:38:43 AM by Lan Mandragoran »

FamilyGuy

• Bristles
Re: 6am biking on cold country roads
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2018, 11:57:54 AM »
Great. Be safe on the roads!

nosythecat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2018, 11:59:17 AM »
I think it's awesome.  I've changed alot of things just by reading this blog, I haven't bought a bike yet, but who says it can't happen right?  Stay safe and forget the naysayers.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2018, 12:15:14 PM »