Author Topic: You're 31 Years Old, How Would you do it Over?  (Read 12677 times)

IamDavin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
You're 31 Years Old, How Would you do it Over?
« on: March 06, 2015, 05:30:11 PM »
If you were me.. and could do it all over again.. what would you do in this case?

Single, 31 years old
Chicago, IL suburbs
No debt
$50-80k a year job income
$40k or so in liquid assets/savings
Currently renting a town home for $1290 a month (yes I know wayyyyyyy to much for a single guy.. but lease is up in two months)

I am thinking of these main options:

1.) Buy an acre of land adjacent to my parents home (they own the land) and build a bare bones small 800 sq. ft. home that could be added onto (I've been checking out Rob Roy's material on this method).  I'm an electrician so I would be doing a lot of work to build up some sweat equity.

Benefits is that I can move in with my parents while I'm working on building.  This will save money.  Hoping to pay for things in cash as I go and avoid a mortgage. 

With it being an acre of land I hope to also start growing my own food.  Helping to cut down in costs and also try to sell some food to help pay for property taxes, etc.

Building can also let me take advantage of eco options like radiant heat, passive solar design, etc.

With this I get to move into a home I built in 1-2 years with low payments of just taxes/utilities/insurance...  and have peace of mind without a mortgage.

Downfall of this approach is that it doesn't provide me with any sort of passive income and will eat all my cash available for the next 1-3 years. 

After this process is complete save money to buy a rental property (maybe 5-6 years down the road).  Bad part will be higher interest rates as an investment property.