Author Topic: Would you rent to this tenant?  (Read 9769 times)

stachestash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Would you rent to this tenant?
« on: May 18, 2015, 12:54:27 PM »
I'm fairly new at landlording and not sure how to qualify this applicant to rent my condo.  Here is the info:

Verified President of a 90 year-old family business (where he has worked for decades)
Credit score = Excellent
Proof of funds = Copy of non-retirement brokerage with sizable assets.
Income = claims 110x monthly rent but does not want to verify with tax returns (So I should basically ignore this.)
Reference = current landlord (also in my condo) says he pays rent one week early and takes very good care of apt. (moving only because current landlord is selling unit).
Impression = Met in person and he seems respectful, responsible and personable.

Can anyone chime in whether or not the proof of funds and good reference from another owner in my condo offsets the unverified income.  It feels like this should be okay. Would you rent to him?

« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 05:35:41 PM by stachestash »

KCM5

• Pencil Stache
Re: Would you rent to this tenant?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 01:11:44 PM »
Ummm...why would this not be a slam dunk?

stachestash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2015, 01:15:37 PM »
It feels like it should be but I'm not experienced in being a landlord and just want to make sure I'm not missing anything.  All online sources and landlording books suggest tax returns as proof of income. 

KCM5

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2015, 01:20:10 PM »
Oh, I'm just inserting myself into something I know nothing about, so please ignore!

But really, he seems like an ideal tenant. Verified business, significant assets that could cover rent for more than the length of the lease, reasonable reason for moving, pays rent on time. So what if he doesn't want to provide tax returns? It's not like he's a presidential candidate ;)

joshbrand111

• 5 O'Clock Shadow