Author Topic: Why does a realtor get paid so much?  (Read 4566 times)

Half-Borg

• Bristles
Why does a realtor get paid so much?
« on: September 11, 2013, 08:43:57 AM »
I was looking for a new flat recently.
I live in a city with lots of students. Most landlords get a realtor to rent out there propertys.
The fee is usally 2.5 rents or 1500€ for the places I looked at, to be paid by the future tenant.
So the realtor snaps some pics (or doesn't) post the flat online with a remark that there is a public showing in three weeks. There are usally about 50 students desperatly looking for a place to live.
Someone gets it and the realtor gets a lot of money for something, that seems like half-a-day-job to me.

Am I missing something or is realtor a instant cash job?

NumberCruncher

• Pencil Stache
Re: Why does a realtor get paid so much?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 08:55:22 AM »
I would love to know the answer to this. I've had some horrible experiences with realtors in the past.

My most recent apartment had a 1/2 fee (still almost $600) for showing us the apartment twice and causing horrible miscommunication that made us really unsure if the apartment was ours or not up until the day before the lease started.

mpbaker22

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 09:18:06 AM »
I was looking at buying a house recently.  An agent spent at least a few hours on the phone with me, spent a few hours going to places, spent a few more hours on the phone with me.  Probably spent a few more hours on the phone with the sellers.  I ended up backing out, and the sale didn't go through.  The realtor didn't get paid.
There are also a lot of people who will try a few different realtors.  While a good idea, it's ultimately a waste of time for the ones you don't use.

They have to make up for all the non-sales, so you're paying them not just for work done on your behalf, but on all those people's behalf as well.